#Blessed

Aloha my little honey buns.

So, a couple of days ago I was out having dinner with some of my family.

 

We were just having the casual dinnertime banter that you have when you’re having a meal.When an interesting topic came up at the table, my Aunty brought up the topic of how blessed we are to be in this country and how we should be grateful, etc.

It really resonated with me, because there have been times when I’ve been so caught up in not getting something from the shops that I want or not having enough clothes  or not having anything good to eat in the pantry.

Sometimes I forget that I am so fortunate. That I live in a country where it is safe and I have access  to food and clean water, I have a roof under my head, I have  a family who I love and love me and I’m getting a good education.

I forget that there are so many people in the world  who don’t get the same opportunities that I do.  Kids who can’t get an education or their parents have to go out and work all day to afford to send their kids to school. Or the parents have to leave the kids with a grandparent, so they can go work and provide food for the family.  There are people in war-torn places that are fearing for their lives, they don’t feel safe in their own country.

However, sometimes you see those charity videos of people from countries like this and some of them look so happy. It amazes me that someone with so little can still have such a big smile on their face. When in western society, people forget about what they are privileged with, all they want is more and the become unhappy.

People use the #Blessed all the time on social media, But I think it’s time to realise how blessed we actually are.

 

Anyway, I hope this resonated with you too.

Spread Love

xxx

Naomi

 

 

Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.
Proverbs 31:8-9
2 Replies to “#Blessed”

  1. So true; just waking up & looking around we should be daily reminded of just how blessed we are. Though the lesson of contentment and gratefulness is always, I feel like this year has definitely been a year with lessons regarding those two principles certainly.

    ~ Bre

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

